Benue assembly has new speaker

Memmbers of the Benue Assembly on Tuesday impeached their Speaker, Terkimbi Ikyange and gave Titus Uba (APC/Kyan) the speakership.

The session was presided over by the Speaker pro-tempo, Alhaji Audu Sule (PDP/Agatu).

The Business Day News paper reports that Uba was the Majority Whip and he is representing Kyan State Constituency on the platform of APC.

The motion for the impeachment was moved by Richard Ujege (APC/Konshisha) and it was seconded by Anthony Ogbu (Ado/APC)

Ujege cited highhandedness of the major reason why the speaker and other principal officers of the house were impeached.

The Deputy Speaker is Johnson Ahubi, the Majority Leader, Avine Agbom (PDP/Makurdi North) who just defected to PDP and Alhaji Audu Sule is the Deputy Majority Leader.

The Majority Whip is Kester Kyenge (PDP/Logo).

22 members signed and sat for the sitting.


Benjamin Agesan, Makurdi

The post Benue assembly has new speaker appeared first on BusinessDay : News you can trust.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: